quarterly to determine how the work of these Departments may be co-ordinated and directed through integrated agricultural policies and with minimum duplication of services.

New Brunswick.—Provincial government agricultural policy in New Brunswick is directed by the Department of Agriculture. The Department is headed by the Minister of Agriculture who is assisted by a Deputy Minister and the Directors of the following Branches: extension, livestock, dairy, veterinary, poultry, horticulture, field husbandry, potato and plant protection, agricultural engineering, home economics, credit union and co-operative, and agricultural education.

Quebec.—The agricultural policy of Quebec is formed around the premise that the family farm remains the ideal basis of the rural social structure. To serve the interests of agriculture, the provincial government, aided by various co-operative and professional associations, is working toward the improvement of agricultural production and marketing through the provision of farm credit, assistance to the farmer in organizing the collective commercialization of his products, the improvement of education and teaching facilities for farmers, and the encouragement of agricultural research. In addition, aid is provided in the form of subsidies to the settler and farmer in handicapped rural areas for the construction of buildings, the acquiring of stock, land clearing and development, and the transportation of produce to market. Under the federal-provincial ARDA program, plans are under consideration for the better utilization of farm lands and, generally, the rational development of rural areas.

These services are administered through the Department of Agriculture and Colonization which operates under authority of a Minister, two Deputy Ministers and an Advisory Board, and comprises seven Services, the several divisions and branches of which deal with specific problems. Each Service is headed by a Director General.

The Production and Marketing Service gives guidance to farmers in the best methods of producing and marketing dairy, animal, horticultural and forestry products and administers the co-operative movement. Co-operative associations for the purchasing of farm supplies and the marketing of farm products are particularly prevalent in the Province of Quebec.

The Research, Education and Information Service administers the Agricultural Research Council which was founded in 1947 to direct, co-ordinate and stimulate research work in agriculture; the results of such research are published in the annual review Recherches Agronomiques. This Service is also concerned with the dissemination of scientific information to farmers and the general public through the press, radio and publications; animal hygiene; veterinary education (the School of Veterinary Medicine at St. Hyacinthe); and agricultural education (Institutes of Agricultural Technology at St. Hyacinthe and Ste. Anne de la Pocatière and fifteen intermediate schools). Information intended to improve family life in general by the cultural enrichment of the farm woman is given through direct teaching, by means of the review La Terre et le Foyer, through local exhibitions and the Provincial Exhibition of Farm Women's Clubs.

The Rural Planning Service, through its four sections—economy, planning, development and utilization of land—is mainly concerned with the implementation of joint federal-provincial programs being conducted under the federal Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA). The Colonization Service is occupied with the establishment of settlers, concessions of land and clearing of land. The Farm Planning and Extension Service is involved in the solving of problems of management and the promotion of agriculture at regional and county levels. Twenty-seven local offices co-ordinate the work of agronomists and specialists. Five-year agricultural contests are held in which the farmers of a parish or county take part, and an annual competition for the Agricultural Order of Merit brings into the limelight the most deserving farmers in each of the five regions into which the province is divided. The work of the Rural Engineering Service falls into three categories—colonization roads, mechanized work and drainage work. The Administration Service deals with personnel, records and the purchasing and maintenance of materials and tools.